top of page

Blog

Kyoto one-day trip with the Randen free pass. (Part 2)




After visiting the Rokuou-In temple, I took a tram called “Randen” and got off at the terminal station, Arashiyama. The Arashiyama had been popular with tourists. Whenever I visited the area, I had a hard time taking a nice picture due to so many people. This area was less crowded this time. (You can see in my photo of the bamboo forest.) I walked through the bamboo area and reached the Ogura pond. Arashiyama area, especially the bamboo forest area, has many sightseeing spots and very popular among tourists. However, the Ogura pond area is usually less crowded. When you visit are tired of bumping into other people, I recommend you visit the Giohji temple. You will be surprised how the temple is quiet. Besides, you will see the beautiful moss garden. The temple has a stunning combination of moss and bamboo.



I was back in the Arashiyama station area for lunch. I entered the Soba (buckwheat noodles) noodle restaurant, Yoshimura. I tried to eat at this restaurant several times before, but I could not find a seat. This time, I thought that I would be able to find a table. It was already 2 pm. I entered the entrance and asked for one table. As I expected, I did not have to wait. They only had one table left. I was lucky!






Although I was tired after lunch, I encouraged myself to explore one more Japanese garden. I went back to the tram again and visited another temple, the Toujiin temple. Honestly, the best of my day was this temple. I love their Japanese garden. I was all by myself at the temple while I was there. Fortunately, I had a chance to talk to the gardener who was taking care of the plants. I told him how much I was impressed and enjoy their quiet atmosphere.





Even though it is famous for its Japanese garden, many tourists pass by this one. There are many beautiful Japanese gardens in this area, such as the Ryouanji temple, the Taizoin temple, and the Ninnaji temple. All of them are worth visiting, but if you would like to experience quiet Kyoto, you may want to choose the Toujiin temple. Of course, the dry garden in Ryoanji is worth visiting, but you would need to squeeze in your bottom between other visitors. There would be too many visitors in the Ryoanji, and it is too busy to meditate. After Ryoanji, why don’t you extend your tour to the Toujiin temple? You would not regret it.



After the Temple visit, I cached tram again and went back to the station I started this morning, Shijo Omiya. Since I live in Osaka, I took a train, the Hankyu line, to Osaka.



Comments


Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page