top of page

Blog

Osaka Tsutenkaku Tower Area (Shinsekai)


Until decades ago, this area was a bit scary to walk around. Shinsekai area had held a negative image before, but the town is rapidly changing to one of the famous tourist spots in Osaka.

I can see many people from abroad visiting Shinsekai area where the Tsutenkaku tower stands. These foreigners and young Japanese would not know much about the atmosphere of the previous era. When I visited this area about 30 years ago, my dad worried about me walking this area. He didn’t know I was going. When I got back from there, he said it was a dangerous neighborhood and should not have visited. Actually, the area did not look safe to stroll around. I held my bag tight.

Well, it has changed so much now. The area is now flourished as attractive and colorful tourist spots. Among new shops and restaurants, some old shops which have not changed much. You would like to visit the must-see places where your guide book tells. However, it would be nice if you can add some unique pictures in your album.

How to get there: When you use subway take Midosuji Line(Red), get off at Dobutsuen-Mae station. If you use the brown line, Sakaisuji Line, get off at Ebisucho station.

My favorite route is visiting Sumiyoshi-Taisha(shrine) and Shisekai area both. When you visit both of them, use the Hankai Line. This line is tramway so you can enjoy the town from a tram.

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page